• img-book

    Fausta Cialente Estate


The Four Wieselberger Girls

Author: Fausta Cialente Estate

Fausta Cialente’s The Four Wieselberger Girls, won the 1976 prestigious Strega Prize. Set in the late 19th century, Triese this family saga set against a grand background of war and historical change and the apparently enchanted lives of four privileged sisters, who are blissfully unaware of their tragic destiny.
In a moment of static serenity, the eldest of the four Wieselberger girls, Alice, marries and her departure from the tightly knit, affectionate family nucleus represents the first dark cloud in the skies. Elsa, the narrator’s mother then marries and ambitious army officer whose predatory air disturbs the nostalgic simplicity of her parents’ own marriage. The narrator, writing as Elsa’s daughter, later moves to Egypt where she participates in the anti-Fascist activity of intellectual Levantine circles. Much later, with the death of her brother and the loss of her parents, the vagabond narrator shifts her attention to her daughter and grandchildren.

Publisher: Baldini + Castoldi
Publish Date: 2018
Page Count: 270


Amid the political and cultural context which influenced the works of Italo Svevo, Fausta Cialente explores the explicit and subterranean links between the individual and history. She was a vocal anti-fascist who grew up in Alessandria Egypt.

Books of Fausta Cialente Estate